MTV VMA 2019: Everything You Need To Know

We're breaking down everything you need to know ahead of the show.

The countdown has begun. We’re about to find out who will take home the big awards at this year’s MTV VMA!

Ariana Grande and Taylor Swift lead the nominations with 10 nods each, while first-time VMA nominees Billie Eilish and Lil Nas X follow close behind with nine and eight respectively.

An all-star lineup is taking the stage at this year’s show. Shawn Mendes, Miley Cyrus, Taylor Swift, Missy Elliott, Camila Cabello, Jonas Brothers, Lil Nas X, Normani and MANY more will perform.

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of the big night.

The 2019 MTV VMA airs in Finland the night between Monday August 26 and Tuesday August 27 at 04:00 AM. The first repeat airs on MTV August 27 at 22:00 and will be available August 27 on

Taylor Swift, Miley Cyrus, Shawn Mendes, Lizzo, Camila Cabello, J Balvin, Rosalía, Bad Bunny, Lil Nas X, Missy Elliott, Jonas Brothers, Big Sean Featuring A$AP Ferg, H.E.R., Normani, Ozuna, Fetty Wap, Naughty By Nature, Queen Latifah, Redman, and Wyclef Jean.

Missy Elliott will be honored with this year’s Video Vanguard Award.

Bebe Rexha, Billy Ray Cyrus, French Montana, Hailee Steinfeld, Ice-T, John Travolta, Keke Palmer, Lenny Kravitz, Lindsey Vonn, Megan Thee Stallion, Rick Ross, Salt-N-Pepa, and many more.

This year’s pre-show starts at 03:00 AM and is hosted by Terrence J and Nessa, with Zara Larsson as special correspondent. Ava Max, CNCO and Megan Thee Stallion are taking the stage during the pre-show.

MTV VMA Nominations 2019: The Full List

Thursday, 22. August 2019